RSS

All Hallows Eve

30 Oct

ImageIt’s almost that time for the hob goblins and the little monsters to reappear on their annual trek to enter into the dentist book of world sweet tooth. Along with that mayhem, the entertainment world has taken full advantage of the opportunity to thrill or scare movie goers.

Time to put things in perspective. What are the scariest movies (top 10 to 20 perhaps) of all time? Yes, black & white films are part of the possibilities… I’ve been informed by my daughter that “Young Frankenstein” doesn’t count as part of the list. Darn, and I thought Igor was very convincing…

Top 20 Scariest Movies of All Time

little pumpkin

  1. Rest Stop (Rotten Tomatoes rates this 0% – it’s quite scary despite their low rating)
  2. Psycho
  3. Halloween
  4. Friday the 13th
  5. The Shining
  6. Ghost (Just checking to see if you’re awake – I know it’s not scary)
  7. The Exorcist
  8. Predator
  9. Aliens
  10. The Texas Chain Saw Massacre
  11. Night of the Living Dead
  12. Jaws
  13. The Silence of the Lambs
  14. Frankenstein (the original classic – I had to include it)
  15. Bride of Frankenstein (OK, also not so scary but it’s great entertainment. Mel Brooks thinks so too)
  16. Puppet Master
  17. Child’s Play
  18. Scanners (look out for those telekinetic powers)
  19. Bubba Ho-tep (Fun film – Bruce Campbell fans probably like the Evil Dead series better)
  20. The Evil Dead
  21. The Hills Have Eyes (1977 film)
  22. Cujo
  23. Christine (1983 film)

I threw in a few extra to make up for the less than scary fun movies.
    It’s your time to choose!!!   boo button

Additional Links

“What makes fingers so attractive for horror writers is that unlike the eyes, we have ten of them. The horror lasts five times longer! And that’s not counting the toes.”

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “All Hallows Eve

  1. Ammon

    03/11/2013 at 19:49

    I find The Exorcist really funny. “What an excellent day for an exorcism.” “Your mother sucks c****s in hell.” Psycho is more intriguing for me than scary, but I can see how it would have scared people. Especially when it came out. What’s scary is definitely subjective. Jaws made me terrified of sharks and the ocean, so that ranks it pretty high on my list of what’s scary. I think Halloween would have been very scary for me had I not seen it 30+ years after it came out. Scream actually scared me more than it did as far as slashers go. Here are the movies that scared me the most:

    1. Jaws
    2. Alien
    3. Seven

     
    • Ammon

      03/11/2013 at 19:55

      Maybe not Seven, but there were some very tense moments that have stuck with me more than the standard serial killer in the shadows.

       
  2. Johh Pearson

    31/10/2013 at 20:26

    My number one would be The Exorcist – What other movie caused people to become physically ill and have to leave the theater in the middle of the the film? Personal note about 6 months after I saw it I was awoken around 6am to my bed shaking. I thought I was possessed. So I get out of the bed and realized it was just an earthquake. I was glad I wasn’t possessed.

    Here’s the rest of my list in no particular order.:

    The Shining

    Texas Chain Saw Massacre (original)

    Night of the Living Dead/ Dawn of the Dead – I just mention Night because it was the first. Dawn of the Dead was the scariest.

    I guess I’m kinda jaded but not many movies scared me. Here’s some that are disturbing.

    Salò, or the 120 Days of Sodom

    The Human Centipede

    The Last House On The Left (original)

     
  3. Johh Pearson

    30/10/2013 at 22:38

    Psycho wasn’t scary. Is this your list Mike?

     
    • Mike

      31/10/2013 at 03:38

      The question was; “What are the scariest movies (top 10 to 20 perhaps) of all time?” Go ahead…. Name your top 20… We await your response. Toe tapping impatiently in background…

       
  4. chrisbarfoot

    30/10/2013 at 22:16

    Dawn of the Dead- when I was around 13… scared the freakin crap outta me… messy…

     
  5. Greg Tarpley

    30/10/2013 at 19:08

    Boogeyman

     
 
